30 Days of Blogging Honesty – Day Nine

It’s Day Nine of the 30 Days of Blogging Honesty

Well, it’s day nine for me here at happy hippie rose!  I kinda tend to work at my own pace, huh?  The 30 Days of Blogging Honesty is a writing event, created by Tom Baker and Cherlyn Cochrane; you can check out the rules and see all of the prompts right here.

Day 09 — When the cashier gives me this amount of money for change I know it’s too much money to dump in the charity bucket…

(stand by for a bunch of possible answers.  go figure!)

-Quarters. 

If there are a bunch of quarters in the change I’m handed, I like to keep those!  Actual quarters are so useful, and once you get ’em, you need to hold on the them.  They’re the only things parking meters take, for one example.

Idk, I just always consider quarters to be legit coinage, a piece that’s useful and worth lugging around and allowing to crazily jingle jangle away in the abyss of my purse.

-Or, anything more than a few bucks?

I mean, I’m not trying to throw $20 into a random charity jar.  Or am I?  These kinds of things are what I just go with the flow on.  If the mood strikes me, I’ll toss all my change in.  If I’m distracted, or in a rush… or just whatever, maybe I won’t?

My husband and I are not rich, far from it.  But we do make great efforts to give as much as we can, as often as we can.  I honestly think we’re pretty generous.  So if I happen to skip some charity jars here and there, I don’t feel so bad.  I know that we help out and do lots of good.

-Or, depends on what else I need cash for, how broke we are, for what charity the money in the jar is being collected.

Yeah, there are a lot of factors.  If I had a twenty and I’m about to make another stop for which I need that cash – then I hold on to it!

And, I’m picky about the charities I’ll donate too.  I can be really picky, sometimes.  I have certain things I look for in an org when I’m going to give them moolah.

There’s always a few things that go into making these kinds of choices.  Sometimes it’s willy-nilly, sometimes it a well thought out decision that I’m making.

At the holidays, of course, I like to sling money around more than usual.  We try to give as much as we can.  When we give away, it blesses us!  Giving is good and it’s fun, and it’s very important.  So I love to help whenever I can, and my hubs is the most generous dude I’ve ever met – he loves to as well.

But, we have our own limits, and we have to be careful not to literally go broke by giving away too much to others.

We’re big tippers.  We always make sure to give at least 20% when we eat out.  We tip food delivery folks, the baggers at the commy, the valet.  Everyone, we tip!  I’d say we’re probably stingier with the random charity jars than tipping  – just because if we’re going out or using a service that merits a tip, we make sure to tip.  We don’t always budget out a charity jar being by the register, and like I’ve already said – sometimes I’m picky about the specific charity.

-Or… we don’t have cash! So nothing. 

I’m a plastic gal.  I hardly ever have cash on me.  In the past when I’ve worked in restaurant and bar jobs, I’ve exclusively used cash.  But usually it’s the ole debit card that I have on hand.  So there isn’t even any change to consider.  Sorry ole charity jar!  That’s why using instant pay online is a great way to give to charity.  It’s deliberate, quick, I can look up the org before I push “send,” and I don’t have to have actual hard money on me.

As always, thanks for reading!  xoxo, hhr

Having fun reading these?

I’m loving the 30 Days of Blogging Honesty!  It’s been a hoot, that’s for sure.

Check out the other folks playing along: Cherlyn CochraneJenn MikoLJMelanieLast Civilized WomanPrincesa MusangPrimadonna ZelCarolineKoiAurathenaTerriblethinkerSleep and SalamiMarliz3ePrysmatiqueDLonelyStarAnonymousBurnNicoleSylvia GarzaMarianaNenskeiMyNakedBokkieBluefiadiarriesVeehCirra,BannatreasuresSajeevHappyhippieroseTheFerkelTom Baker*Sofia*Everything Love & Lust*TemptingSweets99, Sites with an * contain NSFW material. If erotic or sexual material is offensive to you, please do not visit these three blogs.

6 responses

    • yeah, i worked as a server for years – so i know how hard it is and how frustrating it is when you work hard to give great service and it goes financially unrecognized. eating out is a luxury, and paying for good service is part of the experience.

      when you say its not in your vocab – what do you mean? culturally? or do you mean personally, you just don’t like to tip / don’t believe in it?

  1. Really like the way you have analysed your possible ways of action here. and yea, it is great that you are able to appreciate the importance of not wasting change while being generous. That is a class balancing act, i would say 🙂

Leave a Reply

