I Am Second

This weekend was a blur.  My hubs (Duggs) had duty on Friday.  I got sick and was up all night, so I did sleep either.  So, Saturday we both slept.  Today, I’ve been in recovery mode – we’ve just been taking it easy, spending some nice relaxing time together.  With a teensy bit of crafting in there.  I worked for a hot minute.  I haven’t been feeling awesome, so staying home has been nice.

But part of staying home is that we didn’t make it to church this weekend. Sad face.

I love going to church.  Our home church out here in Hawaii, Hope Chapel Kaneohe Bay, is wonderful.  The sermons are passionate, down to earth, funny, relate-able.  The people are amazing, loving.  It’s home to us.

Going every weekend is a way to center our lives.  It helps to ground us.  We spend some time praying, being with God, celebrating all the amazing blessings we experience.  Reflection, thanksgiving, and fellowship.

It’s part of the routine that we love, the foundation for the week. Sets the tone, ya know.  (I hope anyone of my high school friends reading this just shouted set the tone! in your head, LOL).

I know that a blog post isn’t nearly the same as church.  But, I did spend some time this evening focusing on an aspect of my faith that I wanted to share with y’all.   wanted to spend a minute posting about a super rad revolution that I am happily a part of.

I am Second.

Darrell Waltrip’s I Am Second Video

I am Second is this awesome movement I heard about on the radio a while ago.  We’re all in second place, because God’s first.  It’s about all of us contributing to take care of each other, lift each other up, pray for one another and be a community of God’s children.  From their website, here’s an explanation of what it’s all about:

I am Second is a movement meant to inspire people of all kinds to live for God and for others. Actors. Athletes. Musicians. Business leaders. Drug addicts. Your next-door neighbor. People like you. The authentic stories on iamsecond.com provide insight into dealing with typical struggles of everyday living. These are stories that give hope to the lonely and the hurting, help from destructive lifestyles, and inspiration to the unfulfilled. You’ll discover people who’ve tried to go it alone and have failed. Find the hope, peace, and fulfillment they found. Be Second.

 

You are here for a reason. We all have needs and could use some help. Talk to us. Call, chat, or email. 24 hours a day.

 

Go a step further, talk with the people in your life. Spread the revolution of Second. Share the videos with friends. Start an I am Second Group in your neighborhood, workplace, or school or join an I am Second Group already meeting.

 

Volunteer at concerts. Serve through I am Second community service events. Organize your own I am Second events. Sign up for an I am Second Expedition to help people in other countries. Check out Get Involved for other opportunities. Connect with us on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.

 

I am Second is designed to help people discover their purpose in life. Have you discovered yours?

 

I’ve yet to go volunteer at an event, but I try to get involved when I can.  They post prayer chains on FB – stuff like that.  I’ve chatted with total strangers, just to lend an ear, being there at the right time to just help someone.  It’s awesome.

The stories of I am Second members are so awesome.  People who’s been saved, overcome really incredible adversity.  The site has videos and stories that can really brighten your mood.  From huge celebs to everyday people, so many members are part of the movement.

I would love a chance to volunteer with I Am Second.

So, today, I went ahead and registered.  Not just following the FB feed or Twitter, I actually made an account.  So now, it’s up to me to see what opportunities may come my way.  I’m posting here for accountability, and in case others are interested in signing up!

Jason Castro’s I Am Second video

So while I know spending time on a website is totally different than attending church… I just wanted to take a time out from my day to invest some energy into my faith.   And hopefully I’ve sent a couple more people over to the site.  If you check it out and like it, let me know!

As always, thanks for reading!!  xoxo, hhr

7 responses

  1. This sounds like a pretty cool website, and I will check it out. But honestly, I don’t have time for another program (not using the term in a bad sense). Loving people takes up a lot of my time.

    I’ve found that when I quit worrying about me and what people think, and just love on people, two things happen. First, people respond. If it’s a genuine love (and it is, because I fell head over heels in love with the One who feels that way about me), an awful lot of people respond really well. Not everyone, but more than most of us are predisposed to think. While some of them are one time encounters (the stranger at the grocery store you never see again), others move into your life, and open up, and you get lots more chances to love on them… and incidentally, feel some love back.

    This draws others, too. Their friends and family will notice. They’ll tell people about you. Some of these people will come straight to you. Some will test you first. The world is starving for love. Some of them will ignore you or hate you. OK, they treated Jesus that way; why would they treat us any differently? Let that go, and keep looking for people to love.

    Second, the more I do this, the more I find myself noticing God’s love, loving him back, and loving others. I become so secure in him, and in who he made me, that I just love more and worry about the results or myself less. Oh, I’m not perfect yet in how this plays out, but I am perfect in his eyes, and that gives me the freedom to live as if I’m prefect, which drops me into perfection more and more each day.

    Which makes it even easier to love on people.

    I’m praying this for you, Rose, and for everyone.

    And no, this isn’t about me. God does this, and people loving on me this same way helped this all start blooming in me. (If you haven’t read my blog about the man who saved my life, that might help explain some of this.)

    Anyway, it sounds like this web site is a great way to star thinking about such things. Peace, bliss, love and more to all of you!

    • @ Roadkills-R-Us…

      Excellent! (crap, now I have another cool blog to check out…triple crap…you have three…)

      @ anyone that cares….

      My glimpse at some of my views about God:

      God has an amazing sense of humor.

      If you ain’t listening when He is talking sometimes He yells…I have the scars to prove it, physical, emotional, financial, et al.

      Good thing He is merciful, and promises never to ‘hit’ us harder than we can handle.

      (What’s really scary/exciting is I don’t know exactly what He has in store for me, but…lets just say God’s Bootcamp has been LONG, and He does like to keep us guessing)

      Somethings we know about Jesus, from the historical record, Jesus spent most of his time hanging out with regular folk, and he ripped on the establish Church. He showed mercy to the hooker and told the preachers to back off. He spent time with the tax collectors and always took time for kids. He got pissed off and did something about it at great personal risk…just as the money changers in the Temple.

      I have a good friend that wrote a book ‘Jesus Doesn’t Say Please.’
      http://www.amazon.com/Jesus-Doesnt-Please-Robert-Weyrick/dp/1579213634

      I need to find some of my pictures of Bob and I at ‘Church’…the ceiling is way better than the Sistine Chapel…and it is constantly changing. Usually our fly rods are in our hands and sometimes they have big bends in them! ( you will love the shots of some of the other ‘parishioners’…like the hairy four legged variety)

      ttyl,

      Andrew

      • @ Roadkills-R-Us…

        You say…”Oh, I’m not perfect yet” Then you say…”Anfrew….Sorry. I can’t type!”

        I say…No kidding, geez…

        ‘Soryy’…just messin’ with you! None of us are perfect…hopefully these will be our only apologies for the day, but I doubt it. Which is the point…we ain’t perfect. Which is why Amazing Grace is one of my favorite songs! Comfortably Numb by Pink Floyd, Simple Man by Lynyrd Skynyrd and Ordinary Average Guys from the way cool Joe Walsh are also in my Top Ten list as well, but for slightly different reasons, lol.

        (minor vent…I hate spell check! It highlights Lynyrd Skynyrd…I mean what are the odds of unintentionally misspelling those two words in that sequence, in that exact way…’y’ being the only vowel…and it ain’t is if nobody has heard of them or their songs…software code written in India, probably…lol)

        Tell me about the name…roadkillsrus…I am sure it’s in one of your blogs, which I did briefly visit, but have not had the time to explore. Having actually eaten roadkill before, I am curious, and I will explain why I ate roadkill later. I got to run…but in my case, it wasn’t that gross…freshly killed…by me…

        ttyl

  2. @ Rose

    We didn’t make it to ‘church’ this weekend either, but like you we improvised…here is the Instant Message I sent yesterday morning:

    here you go….church for today…..
    me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfPT0ODaM1Q&feature=related
    me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1Uicc-6I-M&feature=related
    me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3n5DdH6j1M&feature=related

    Just some great music that makes you think…

    If you don’t know about Rodger Hodgeson, in a nutshell, his first record in the late ’60’s had Reginald Dwight (before he changed his name to Elton John) on keyboards. Then he co-founded Supertramp, recorded 4 albums in the 70’s that sold 60 million copies, quit the band to focus on raising his family, and only recently began touring again. (nice priorities!)

    I can’t help but believe his lyrics are Divinely inspired.

Leave a Reply

