being grateful for grace

So, I’ve been a bit of a derelict.  In adjusting to my new job, getting through the holidays, adding a lot of working out into my schedule, and any other excuses I can think of – some things have slipped a bit.

I haven’t been crafting as much lately.  I’m behind on my TV shows (tragic, I know).

And sadly, some aspects of my Spiritual Life have slipped. 

Around the time of making New Year’s Resolutions Goals, I decided to make my prayer life, and time spent with God, more of a priority.  It seems kinda lame to slap “pray” on a to-do list; shouldn’t prayer be constant, readily on my mind, and a must-do kinda item (not something that can just get dropped to make time for other activities)?

But I’m not perfect, and so I am literally making it a goal, I am slapping it on my to-do list (well, maybe I’m gingerly placing it there).  I want to work more on my relationship with God, making time for Devotion is a priority for me. 

yesterday's sunrise, as seen from my front yard - a beautiful brand new day, an awesome symbol for starting fresh

Duggs and I go to Church. we’re great about saying Grace before meals, and we have our bed time prayer.    But I used to wake up and pray, do some yoga and thank God for the millions of blessing I experience daily, play worship music while cleaning, driving or working out, Bible study or focus on a devotional just about everyday, and so on.  I used to make time to focus on thanksgiving, on praying for others, on just being with God all the time.

I miss the priority that my walk with Christ used to be. 

So, I’m making the effort to get it back. 

My Dad’s friend Amy gifted me this amazing book: “Praying God’s Word” by Beth Moore.  Every time I crack it open, Beth Moore seems to speak straight to me and she facilitates the devotion I need, when I need it.  The book is divided into different obstacles we need to overcome – like overcoming sadness, or overcoming deception.  Whatever need the occasion calls for, I’m able to just flip to the chapter and find all these applicable verses.

I’ve been feeling guilty for my lack of prayer life.

I turned to the chapter on Overcoming Feelings Of Guilt, and the most perfect verse was just right there waiting for me:

Father, I thank You that You’ve had mercy on me according to Your unfailing love; according to Your great compassion You blot out my transgressions.  You can wash away all my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin … You can create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirirt within me. (Ps. 51:1, 2, 10)

Amen.

The most perfect Word from God comes at the most perfect time; that’s how He works.  His grace is perfect, and it’s for all of us.  Just when I’ve sinned and I feel bad about it, and I’m sorry… here comes His most perfectly fitting forgiveness.  His grace washes me clean, gives me that clean slate, and helps me to honestly start fresh.

He blots out my transgressions.  He washes away my iniquity. 

It’s okay that I’ve slipped, because He is there to catch me. 

I’m so happy to have found this word and I know it’s a prayer I’ll be re-visting more than once.  It’s simple, beautiful, and just leaves me feeling clean and refreshed.  A power washing for the soul.

I feel totally picked up, dusted off and set back off in the right direction.

Thank you Lord, for your Grace.  For giving me second chances, not allowing me to wallow in shame, self-pity, or marinating in guilt when I’ve messed up.  You offer me a chance at earnest sorrow and whole forgiveness.  Thank you God.

Back on the To-Do List: Do this more often.

as always, thanks for reading! xoxo, hhr

8 responses

  1. Your current life situation reminds me of the poem Footprints. I’m not religious and obviously if you want your spiritual life to be in a certain place then you should work to get it there….but I feel like God sees that you’re in a weaker place and He’s carrying you right now. You’ve generally been a strong Christian and a vivid witness…and in spite of what you’re going through right now He’s still covering you in His grace and love and you’re experiencing blessings…so maybe right now He’s writing you a pass.

    I dunno maybe that doesn’t make any sense.

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful reply… wow. Well, I do know that God sees me all the time, and I feel like my little “inside jokes” with Him are always with me (everytime I step outside and a ray of sun beams right in the eye, I always look up and I’m like, “God! Yes Hi, I see you” – I feel like it’s His way of saying hi, getting my attention, it always happens at super fitting moments, like right after a really hard set of speed intervals, this gorgeous warm ray will enevlope me and I feel like it’s God, as my Father, hugging me to say He’s proud, and so on…)

      I do feel like He’s not mad at me, or anything like that… I think I was feeling guilt about making excuses not to dig in and spend the time in that kind of religious study or dedication that way I once was.

      I haven’t worked on any service projects all month long. I haven’t done a minute of volunteer work (although, I’m doing some stuff for my church’s women’s group next week, so at least that’s something) … so I think my own guilt was my own conscience, knowing that I can do better.

      He carries me now, for sure. And always.

      Thank you for your kind words about my character, that makes me feel good to hear. Thank you!

  2. Good post, Rose; I’ve been feeling the same way. I’ve found that the Christian walk is cyclical. I slip up, repent, believe, and fight, over and over again. Thanks for the encouragement. :o)

Leave a Reply

