let’s save public broadcasting!

Can you even imagine a world without NPR? Without PBS?

this is how sad we are even imagining a world without public broadcasting. SO SAD.

Go here, and help fight the good fight to keep public broadcasting adequately funded: http://www.170millionamericans.org/

And if you think that public broadcasting is dumb or not worth it, let me implore you to give some fine programming a whirl.  In the car, you need to listen to NPR.  Its free, and has no commercials.  You’ll love it.

I love NPR, and not just for the news (which is totes great).  But I love the shows.

This American Life is my fav radio show ever.  I also enjoy The State We’re In, Talk of the Nation, and that cooking one that’s always on Saturday when I’m driving to yoga?  Its something about a table… The Splendid Table (I had to google the legit name), I love that show too.  (They’re always cooking delicious things and making me hungry on my way to the gym).  Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me is fun.  I could go on.

And PBS?  Did you not see Colonial House?  That was one of the dopest reality shows ever.  Nova? Epic. All the time. The multi-part documentary Jazz?  So incredible.  If you have Netflix, you’ve probably watching multiple PBS programs without even realizing it.

WE NEED PUBLIC BROADCASTING.

So really quick… Just go here and do your thing, sign a petition and send some emails to your reps: http://www.170millionamericans.org/

Check out the lovely email one of my reps here in Hawaii emailed me today:

Dear Mrs. Duggan:

Thank you for contacting me regarding funding for the Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB). I noted your concerns regarding the elimination of federal funding for public broadcasting in H.R. 1, the Full-Year Continuing Appropriations Act, 2011, which was passed in the House of Representatives on February 19, 2011, by a vote of 235 to 189.

The CPB is the largest single source of funding for public television and radio programming. CPB radio programs are distributed primarily through stations such as National Public Radio (NPR) and Public Radio International (PRI), and other producers or distributors of public radio programs.

I have long been supportive of CPB and its mission to provide high quality, educational programming, and I believe that CPB continues to provide some of the healthiest and most valuable programming available for our keiki and community.

As Congress considers budget priorities and appropriations for FY 2011 and 2012, rest assured I will continue to work with my colleagues to ensure adequate funding is provided for the CPB. Mahalo again for contacting me.

Aloha pumehana,

DANIEL K. AKAKA

U.S. Senator

Damn! He’s not playing.  And neither am I.  Public broadcasting is a seriously vital component of our free lives, and our devotion to free, public, ongoing, accessible, and important education.

THANKS!!

Leave a Reply

